Graduate Council

Graduate Council Committee 2021-2022

School/CollegeCommittee Member E-mail
BUSINESSFred Perryfvperry@fiu.edu
CARTANeil Leachdleach@fiu.edu
CASEM.O. Thirunarayanan, Chairthiru@fiu.edu
CNHSYasmin Campbellycampbel@fiu.edu
ENGINEERINGBogdan Carbunar
carbunar@fiu.edu
HOSPITALITYEric Beckmanebeckman@fiu.edu
LAWHannibal Travistravish@fiu.edu
LIBRARYElana Karshmerekarshme@fiu.edu
MEDICINEHitendra Chand
hchand@fiu.edu
PUBLIC HEALTH & SWCristina Palacioscrpalaci@fiu.edu
SIPAShaoming Cheng, Co-Chairscheng@fiu.edu
GRADUATE SCHOOL
STUDENT REPRENSENTATIVE

Curriculum Forms & Information
Graduate Council Policies and Procedures Manual

Unit-Specific Graduate Admissions Standards
Policy

A college graduate seeking admission into a graduate program of the University must have a bachelor's degree or equivalent from a regionally accredited institution with a minimum of a “B” average in upper level work, or a graduate degree from an accredited institution.

Appropriate nationally-normed examinations will be required for all Ph.D. programs. Scores must be at or above the 60th percentile (e.g., 1120 combined Verbal and Quantitative on the GRE or 570 composite on the GMAT).

Master’s degree programs and professional doctoral degree programs individually determine admission requirements with respect to requiring nationally-normed examinations and the required scores with the proviso that if nationally-normed examinations are required, scores must be at or above the 40th percentile (e.g., 1000 combined Verbal and Quantitative on the GRE or 500 composite on the GMAT).

Individual units may place greater weight on either the verbal or quantitative portion of the examination and are encouraged to set higher requirements than University minimums. Admissions at the graduate level are competitive and meeting minimum program requirements does not guarantee admission.

Students may also seek admission through the University' s 10% Waiver Policy.

Procedures

Proposals to establish new admissions criteria must be endorsed by the faculty of the unit, by the unit dean, and by the Faculty Senate; approved by the Dean of the University Graduate School and by the Provost; and are subject to review by the Board of Trustees after which the new admissions criteria will be incorporated into appropriate official publications of the University.

Official publications of the University will note that at the graduate level, admissions requirements are minimums and even if those minimums are met, admission is not assured. Admission is competitive among all students meeting the minimum admission requirements for the number of available openings in the program and, at the doctoral level, the availability of faculty mentors.

Approved by the Faculty Senate April 16, 2002, Motion01/02:47 [/su_spoiler

 

Committee Meeting Minutes 2021-2022

March 25, 2022-Minutes#5

March 11, 2022-Minutes#4

February 4, 2022-Minutes#3

December 3, 2021-Minutes#2

October 29, 2021-Minutes#1

Committee Meeting Minutes 2020-2021

January 29, 2021-Minutes #3

November 13, 2020-Minutes#2

October 30, 2020-Minutes#1

Committee Meeting Minutes 2018-2019

February 8, 2019-Minutes#1

Committee Meeting Minutes 2017-2018

October 6, 2017-Minutes #1

November 3, 2017-Minutes#2

December 1, 2017-Minutes#3

Committee Meeting Minutes 2015-2016

End of Year Reports

Year End Report 2020-2021

Year End Report 2017-2018

Year End Report 2016-2017

Committee End of Year Report 2015-2016

    Committee Meeting Minutes 2014-2015

    Committee Meeting Minutes 2012-2013

    Committee Meeting Minutes 2011-2012